RSS Feed

Gays in the Military


Allowing homosexuals to serve openly has been a hot topic of debate for a long time.  I really want to get a better understanding of why people are so against it.  I know what the “religious” folks say that homosexuality is an “abomination” and a sin.  It is not a preference that I choose to have but these same nay sayers commit other sins daily, and sin is sin.  No one sin is greater than the other, other than blasphemy.  With that being said.  These are human beings we are talking about.  They have the right to be treated as such no matter their sexual preference.   I have read that some officials reasoning for opposing homosexuals from serving openly is because of the increase in non deployability due to HIV infections.  Come on really.  Now homosexuals are the only ones that contract HIV/AIDS.  If we really want to get technical there are heterosexuals that engage in risky sexual activities but hey no one is knocking that cause their “straight”.  Take the airman who was recently sentenced to 8 years for exposing sex partners to HIV.  I really feel like if they want to serve allow them to serve their country.  They serve now anyway.  They are not attacking people, they are not offending others, they are not coming on to people in the showers(at least not if you did not invite them to anyway. )  In my opinion it is just another form of discrimination and people acting out of fear.  Trust me homosexuality is not contagious.  It’s not the cooties.  I really want to know what the big deal is on this matter.  There would be no public displays of affection while in uniform because it is against regulation for all service members.  I am really trying to see both sides.  I consider it an honor for any man or woman to lay down their life in service for their country and what they believe in no matter what their sexual preference is.  I’m just saying.

About Natasha Evans

Born and raised Texas gal. Mother of four wonderful boys. Proud Army wife. I love to engage in the world around me.

2 responses »

  1. I dont know why folks is trippn. I worked with a few while I was in. We all knew it too. LOL Just never asked. Most military folks dont care. Its them folks who never been in and try to tell the troops what to do.

    Reply
    • I know. When I was in we knew who was “gay” it didn’t matter. They were cool. You’re right about them higher ups that haven’t done real work that always have something to say.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

