RSS Feed

I Want to Honor Good Men


Far too often men are cast in a negative light.  I want to stop and take a moment to show my appreciation.  Not all men are “dogs”.  There are so many that are doing all they can for themselves, their family, their children, friends and their communities.

First I would like to thank my daddy.  He was never a man to show much emotion but as I look back through my life I can

My dad with my mom and his grandsons

 see the many ways he showed us he loved us.  When I was a little girl I used to swear my daddy didn’t love me when he would get on me for acting up.  I now know he disciplined me because he loved me and wanted the best for me and from me.  We were actually quite spoiled, we still are.  🙂  My dad will do all he can for his children.  Through my child eyes he was huge, my dad is 6’6″ so he really is tall.  His hands were enormous in comparison to mine or anyone else I know.  I used to tell people, “my dad can do anything”, I still think that.  There is no one like my dad.  He’s funny and patient.  My father works long and hard to provide for his family. We have PCS’d 4 times stateside and each time my father has driven my vehicle cause I don’t want to drive the long hours.  I ask and he’s there.  He’s done the same for my other siblings as well.  He’s an awesome grandpa to his four grandsons.  He spoils them too.  Thank you daddy for being the best father you know how.

Me and my hubby

My hubby, Jeremiah Evans, is the love of my life.  We’ve been married 11 years and have the greatest three boys together.  This man literally swept me off my feet, he used to carry me around base on his shoulders. lol   I have never known love like I’ve known it with him.  I almost ruined it with the baggage of my past but him being the patient man that he is, loved me through it all.  We have been through so much together, the good, the bad and the ugly.  Our relationship has truly been tested through the years.  No matter what we’ve been through we dug our heels in and worked it out.  Jeremiah is a loving and devoted man to his family.  He sacrifices so much for us and rarely complains.  I know that he would lay down his life for us without a question.  Not only does he sacrifice for his family but for his country as well.  He does his duty to protect and maintain the freedoms we have today.  He has missed two births, birthdays, anniversaries and holidays serving his country abroad.  He does what is required of him in all that he does.  He is a joy to be around and can lighten any room.  Thank you husband and father of our children for being the best man you can be against the odds.

My father-in-law, James Evans.  Oh my what an amazing man.  I got to really know my father-in-law, who I call dad,

My father-in-law and hubby with our baby boy

 when my husband was deployed.  Prior to my husband’s last deployment my dad, who never flew on a plane before, got on a plane from Virginia bound for Texas to see us for Christmas.  That meant so much to me.  While my husband was on tour my dad called everyday to check on us and we talked for hours about everything.  Dad got me through a lot of days when I was stressed and overwhelmed, missing my hubby.  He made me laugh and listened to me vent.  He always has a piece of wisdom that he ends our conversations with.  My father-in-law taught my husband how to be a man and has always been there for his children.  Thank you dad for letting me be your “baby girl” too, treating me just like your daughter.

I want to say thank you to the men that take care of their children.  The men that make sacrifices for their families, being good husbands and fathers.  Even the men that pick up the slack and take care of children that are not theirs biologically.  Working long hours and sometimes multiple jobs,  even while attending school.  The single fathers that rarely receive any admiration doing all they can.   The soldiers away from their family for a year at a time-serving their country, thank you.  The firefighters and policemen that put their lives on the line as well.   Whatever your line of work, thank you.  Your hard work does not go unseen.  THANK YOU!  I’m just saying.

About Natasha Evans

Born and raised Texas gal. Mother of four wonderful boys. Proud Army wife. I love to engage in the world around me.

6 responses »

  1. I loved this!! So many times men are overlooked in the parenting world. Women get the props for all we do. This is a fine example of not one, but THREE, wonderful men.

    Reply
  2. So true! And you have lil men in the making 😀

    Reply
  3. I have enjoyed reading this!!!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: He Has Put His Foot Down! « tangledreality.com

Leave a Reply

