RSS Feed

An Airman’s Response To Cindy Williams About Military Pay


I received this email from my mother and felt that it was necessary to repost.  Please support our military and their families.  Below is a letter that A1C Michael Bragg,  Hill AFB AFNCC sent to Cindy Williams of the Washington times about Military Pay.  Enjoy:

 This is an Airman’s response to Cindy Williams’ editorial piece in the
Washington Times about MILITARY PAY, it should be printed in all newspapers
across America .    

  Ms. Cindy William  wrote a piece for the Washington Times denouncing the pay
raise(s) coming service members’ way this year citing that she stated a 13%
wage increase was more than they deserve.    

  A young airman from Hill AFB responds to her article below. He ought to get
a bonus for this.   

“Ms  Williams: 

I just had the pleasure of reading your column, “Our GI’s earn enough” and I
am a bit confused. Frankly, I’m wondering where this vaunted overpayment is
going, because as far as I can tell, it disappears every month between DFAS
(The Defense Finance and Accounting Service) and my bank account. Checking
my latest earnings statement I see that I make $1,117.80 before taxes per
month. After taxes, I take home $874.20.  When I run that through the
calculator, I come up with  an annual salary of $13,413.60 before taxes, and
$10,490.40 after.    

  I work in the Air Force Network Control Center where I am part of the team
responsible for a 5,000 host computer network. I am involved with
infrastructure segments, specifically with Cisco Systems equipment. A quick
check under jobs for “Network Technicians” in the Washington , D.C. area
reveals a position in my career field, requiring  three years experience in
my job. Amazingly, this job does NOT pay $13,413.60 a year. No, this job is
being offered at $70,000 to $80,000 per annum………… I’m sure you can
draw the obvious conclusions.    

  Given the tenor of your column, I would assume that you NEVER had the
pleasure of serving your country in her armed forces.   

Before you take it upon yourself to once more castigate congressional and
DOD leadership for attempting to get the families in the military’s lowest
pay brackets off of WIC and food stamps, I suggest that you join a group of
deploying soldiers headed for AFGHANISTAN ; I leave the choice of service
branch up to you. Whatever choice you make though, opt for the SIX month
rotation: it will guarantee you the longest possible time away from your
family and friends, thus giving you full “deployment experience.”  

  As your group prepares to board the plane, make sure to note the spouses and
children who are saying good-bye to their loved ones. Also take care to note
that several families are still unsure of how they’ll be able to make ends
meet while the primary breadwinner is gone. Obviously they’ve been
squandering the “vast” piles of cash the government has been giving them.

Try to deploy over a major holiday; Christmas and Thanksgiving are perennial
favorites. And when you’re actually over there, sitting in a foxhole,
shivering against the cold desert night, and the flight sergeant tells you
that there aren’t enough people on shift to relieve you for chow, remember
this: trade whatever MRE’s (meal-ready-to-eat) you manage to get for the
tuna noodle casserole or cheese tortellini, and add Tabasco to everything.
This gives some flavor.    

  Talk to your loved ones as often as you are permitted; it won’t be nearly
long enough or often enough, but take what you can get and be thankful for
it. You may have picked up on the fact that I disagree with most of the
points you present in your open piece.    

  But, tomorrow from KABUL, I will defend to the death your right to say it.

You see, I am an American fighting man, a guarantor of your First Amendment
right and every other right you cherish…On a daily basis, my brother and
sister soldiers worldwide ensure that you and people like you can thumb your
collective noses at us, all on  a salary that is nothing short of pitiful
and under conditions that would make most people cringe. We hemorrhage our
best and brightest into the private sector because we can’t offer the
stability and pay of civilian companies.    

  And you, Ms. Williams, have the gall to say that we make more than we
deserve?   

A1C Michael Bragg,  Hill AFB AFNCC    

Enough said. I’m just saying!(added by me)

About Natasha Evans

Born and raised Texas gal. Mother of four wonderful boys. Proud Army wife. I love to engage in the world around me.

9 responses »

  1. WOWW I’M @ A LOSS FOR WORDS!!

    Reply
  2. There’s so much I could say to this, but it would pretty much be the Airman’s response with some cuss words thrown in!!! Thanks for posting this, my husband and I enjoyed it. Though I’d like to find that journalist he wrote the letter to and smack her!

    Reply
  3. I remember reading something like this awhile ago. But I felt the same way when I was in the Air Force… Talking bout we was getting paid to much. We were on call 24/7 and getting 11oo a check. And thats with BAS, COLA, and spouse pay.

    Reply
  4. I’d have to test with you here. Which isn’t one thing I often do! I get pleasure from studying a post that can make people think. Additionally, thanks for allowing me to remark!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: We all need to do a reality check! - Page 2

  6. With all due respect; if some research would have been done into this topic you would have found that this e-mail is a fabrication. Dr Williams is not and has never been appointed to any office by our President Barack Obama; isn’t that what the e-mail is really about. However she did hold the position of Assistant Director for NATIONAL SECURITY in the Congressional Budget Office under President Bill Clinton from 1994-1997.

    This letter was written to Dr Williams in response to a column she wrote in Jan 00. It has been changed and updated to reflect current times (i.e. Saudi changed to Kabul, etc.). People receive these e-mails and automatically assume that the research was done by a reputable person; so they forward it. These types of chain e-mails do nothing but raise awareness about incorrect information.

    Reply
    • Kate I can put your finding in the post but I will not delete it. I love the way the “so-called” letter was written because it is so true of those who serve in the military and just how little we earn when so many people think we make more than enough. Thank you for the correct information. It is appreciated.

      Reply
    • I always research any political emails I get especially if it has Obama’s name twisted in it, and as usual it is not a recent article, but written in 2000 comparing private salaries to military salaries. It is a shame people hit forward without any consideration of it being true.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

